top of page
Search

Download 1-9: How to Fill Out and File Form I-9 for Your Employees



Download 1-9: What Is It and How to Do It




If you are looking for a new job in the United States, you may have heard of Form I-9. But what is it exactly and how do you download it? In this article, we will explain what Form I-9 is, why you need it, how to download it from the USCIS website, and how to fill it out correctly and avoid common mistakes.




download 1-9




What is Form I-9 and why do you need it?




Form I-9 is a document that verifies your identity and employment authorization




Form I-9, also known as Employment Eligibility Verification, is a document that all U.S. employers must use to verify the identity and employment authorization of individuals hired for employment in the United States. This includes citizens and noncitizens. The purpose of Form I-9 is to ensure that only authorized workers are employed in the United States and to prevent illegal immigration, discrimination, and fraud.


You need to complete Form I-9 when you start a new job in the United States




As an employee, you need to complete Form I-9 when you start working for a new employer in the United States. You must complete and sign Section 1 of Form I-9 no later than the first day of employment, but not before accepting a job offer. You must also present your employer with acceptable documents that prove your identity and employment authorization. Your employer will then complete and sign Section 2 and Section 3 of Form I-9 within certain time frames.


You and your employer are responsible for filling out and retaining Form I-9




Both you and your employer are responsible for filling out and retaining Form I-9. You must provide accurate and truthful information on Form I-9 and attest to your employment authorization under penalty of perjury. Your employer must examine your documents to determine whether they reasonably appear to be genuine and relate to you, then record their information on Form I-9. Your employer must also retain Form I-9 for a designated period and make it available for inspection by authorized government officers. If you or your employer fail to comply with the requirements of Form I-9, you may face civil or criminal penalties.


How to download Form I-9 from the USCIS website




You can download Form I-9 in PDF format from the USCIS website




The easiest way to download Form I-9 is from the official website of the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). You can find the link to download Form I-9 on this page: . You can download Form I-9 in PDF format by clicking on the link that says "Form I-9 (PDF, 726.73 KB)".


How to download Form I-9 from USCIS website


Download Form I-9 PDF version for printing


Download Form I-9 in Spanish for Puerto Rico


Download Form I-9 Supplement for Preparer and Translator


Download Form I-9 Instructions and Guidance


Download Form I-9 with QR Code for Section 1


Download Form I-9 Basic Version for mobile devices


Download Form I-9 Sample Completed by Employer


Download Form I-9 Handbook for Employers


Download Form I-9 Webinar Recording and Slides


Download Form I-9 Notice of Inspection and Audit


Download Form I-9 Retention Calculator Tool


Download Form I-9 Correction and Reverification Process


Download Form I-9 Common Errors and Best Practices


Download Form I-9 E-Verify User Manual


Download Form I-9 Employee Rights and Responsibilities


Download Form I-9 Acceptable Documents List


Download Form I-9 Remote Verification Option


Download Form I-9 Electronic Signature Option


Download Form I-9 Electronic Storage Option


You can choose between the regular version or the basic version of Form I-9




There are two versions of Form I-9 that you can download from the USCIS website: the regular version and the basic version. The regular version of Form I-9 is a fillable PDF file that you can complete on your computer or print and complete by hand. The basic version of Form I-9 is a printable PDF file that you can only complete by hand. You can choose the version that suits your preference and convenience, as long as you follow the instructions and fill out the form correctly.


You can also download the instructions and the supplement for Form I-9




In addition to Form I-9, you can also download the instructions and the supplement for Form I-9 from the USCIS website. The instructions provide detailed guidance on how to complete each section of Form I-9, what documents are acceptable, and what rules apply to different situations. The supplement is a separate form that is used for certain employees, such as minors, certain foreign nationals, and employees with disabilities. You should read the instructions and the supplement carefully before filling out Form I-9 to avoid errors and violations.


How to fill out Form I-9 correctly and avoid common mistakes




You must complete Section 1 of Form I-9 no later than the first day of employment




As an employee, you must complete Section 1 of Form I-9 no later than the first day of employment, but not before accepting a job offer. Section 1 asks for your personal information, such as your name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, email address, phone number, and citizenship or immigration status. You must also attest to your employment authorization by checking one of the boxes and signing and dating the form. You must use your legal name and provide accurate and truthful information on Section 1.


You must provide acceptable documents to prove your identity and employment authorization




As an employee, you must also provide your employer with acceptable documents that prove your identity and employment authorization within three business days of your first day of employment. You can choose from a list of documents that are divided into three categories: List A, List B, and List C. List A documents show both your identity and employment authorization, such as a U.S. passport or a permanent resident card. List B documents show only your identity, such as a driver's license or a school ID card. List C documents show only your employment authorization, such as a Social Security card or a birth certificate. You can either present one document from List A or a combination of one document from List B and one document from List C. You must present original documents that are valid and unexpired.


You must sign and date Form I-9 and keep a copy for your records




As an employee, you must sign and date Form I-9 in Section 1 to attest to your employment authorization under penalty of perjury. You must also keep a copy of Form I-9 and the documents you presented for your records. You can either keep a paper copy or an electronic copy of Form I-9, as long as you can access it easily if needed. You should also update your information on Form I-9 if there are any changes in your name, citizenship or immigration status, or expiration date of your documents.


Your employer must complete Section 2 and Section 3 of Form I-9 within certain time frames




As an employer, you must complete Section 2 and Section 3 of Form I-9 within certain time frames. Section 2 requires you to review the documents presented by the employee and record their information on Form I-9. You must complete Section 2 within three business days of the employee's first day of employment. Section 3 requires you to update or reverify the employee's information on Form I-9 in certain situations, such as when the employee's work authorization expires, when the employee is rehired within three years, or when the employee changes their name. You must complete Section 3 by the date specified on the form or by the date that the employee's work authorization expires.


Your employer must review your documents and record their information on Form I-9




As an employer, you must review the documents presented by the employee to determine whether they reasonably appear to be genuine and relate to the employee. You must examine each document in the presence of the employee and accept only original documents that are valid and unexpired. You must not request more or different documents than necessary or discriminate against any employee based on their citizenship or immigration status. You must record the document title, issuing authority, number, and expiration date (if any) on Form I-9 in Section 2. You must also enter your business name, title, address, and signature and date on Form I-9 in Section 2. You must also enter the employee's first day of employment on Form I-9 in Section 2.


Conclusion




Summary of the main points




Form I-9 is a document that verifies your identity and employment authorization when you start a new job in the United States. You can download Form I-9 from the USCIS website in PDF format and choose between the regular version or the basic version. You must complete Section 1 of Form I-9 no later than the first day of employment and provide acceptable documents to prove your identity and employment authorization. Your employer must complete Section 2 and Section 3 of Form I-9 within certain time frames and review your documents and record their information on Form I-9. You and your employer are responsible for filling out and retaining Form I-9 and complying with the requirements and rules.


Call to action




If you want to learn more about Form I-9, you can visit the USCIS website or contact their customer service. You can also consult with an immigration lawyer or a human resources professional if you have any questions or concerns about Form I-9. Remember, Form I-9 is an important document that protects your rights and responsibilities as an employee in the United States, so make sure you download it and fill it out correctly and avoid common mistakes.


FAQs




What is the difference between Form I-9 and Form W-4?




Form I-9 is a document that verifies your identity and employment authorization, while Form W-4 is a document that determines how much federal income tax your employer will withhold from your paycheck. You need to complete both forms when you start a new job in the United States, but they serve different purposes.


What happens if I don't complete Form I-9 or provide acceptable documents?




If you don't complete Form I-9 or provide acceptable documents, your employer may not hire you or may terminate your employment. You may also face civil or criminal penalties for violating the immigration laws. Therefore, it is important that you complete Form I-9 and provide acceptable documents as soon as possible after accepting a job offer.


What if my documents expire or change after completing Form I-9?




If your documents expire or change after completing Form I-9, you may need to update or reverify your information on Form I-9. For example, if your work authorization expires, you must present new documents that show your continued employment authorization. If you change your name, you must inform your employer and update your information on Form I-9. Your employer will complete Section 3 of Form I-9 to record the changes.


Where can I find a list of acceptable documents for Form I-9?




You can find a list of acceptable documents for Form I-9 on the last page of the form or on the USCIS website. The list includes three categories of documents: List A, List B, and List C. You can either present one document from List A or a combination of one document from List B and one document from List C.


How long do I need to keep Form I-9 and the documents I presented?




You need to keep a copy of Form I-9 and the documents you presented for your records. You can either keep a paper copy or an electronic copy of Form I-9, as long as you can access it easily if needed. You should also update your information on Form I-9 if there are any changes in your name, citizenship or immigration status, or expiration date of your documents. Your employer must retain Form I-9 for as long as you work for them and for a designated period after your employment ends. 44f88ac181


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pop and Drop with Bubble Shooter Primitive Egg Mod Apk

Bubble Shooter Primitive Egg Mod APK: A Fun and Challenging Puzzle Game Do you love playing puzzle games that are colorful, cute, and addictive? Do you want to experience a great adventure in a primit

bottom of page